The «Otto Naegeli Prize» was established in 1960, in memory of Professor Otto Naegeli, the distin-guished scientist and teacher of internal medicine at the University of Zurich, who died in 1938.

Until 1984, the prize was awarded annually by the Otto Naegeli Foundation, with the awardee receiving the sum of CHF 100,000. The Bonizzi-Theler Foundation assumed responsibility for giving the «Otto Naegeli Prize» in 1986, and since 1988, the award has been conferred every other year with an allocation of CHF 200,000. Upon dissolution of the Bonizzi-Theler Foundation in 2008, a proportion of the Foundation’s capital was transferred to the new Otto Naegeli Foundation. Beginning in 2020 the foundation will award the Otto Naegeli Prize thanks to financial means made available to it in memory of Dr. Alex Vannod who passed away in 2019.